Create-A-Day: A Few Days Behind

May 12, 2012 § Leave a comment

Whew, in the midst of finals. I always get so paranoid, trying to imagine how it will feel if I ever get a B in art history. it’s never happened before and this would be the *perfect* (meaning the absolute WORST) time for me to break my A streak. I really need to get into a great PhD program, so a B would really hurt my chances. Going back to work full-time right before finals week started was, I admit, a pretty terrible decision, but I was worried about turning down the job in case they wouldn’t offer me another one later. A girl’s gotta pay rent, right? So as usual, I’m doing the best I can at juggling school and work and life and am filled with anxiety about failing in all three. Shocking, I know. So we’ll find out next week if I screwed the pooch or not!

I’ve just got one more paper left to turn in. It’s in pretty good shape so far. I had to turn in a rough draft for it, so I’m already over half-way done! woohoo. and it was really well-received so I know I’m on the right track. I just have to write one section and then write the conclusion, after I read another article (or two or three) and a book my prof recommended. So I’ve got some more mental work to do before I write more, but I’ve got time. The paper isn’t due until tomorrow. ;)

I’ve had this plaid shirt since I was little. I actually think it was my brother’s from middle school and somehow I ended up with it. it’s my lazy weekend shirt (because I can get away with not wearing a bra in public with it on. though of course by “public” I just mean walking to the convenience store to buy mass amounts of diet coke.).

there’s a fashion blogger I follow who has these great casual shots. I tried it… not totally sure it works for me, but I thought I would try it. she’s so natural in front of the camera, it’s like she doesn’t even notice it’s there, or when she does, she looks at it like it’s either a friend or a nobody. it’s really interesting and hard to¬†imitate¬†when you’re me and super awkward/self-conscious in front of a camera.

And a more normal photo, showing my awesome styling of a really old short-sleeved cardigan that I bought in high school. it used to have these great buttons that were big with a strip of ribbon through them, but in true forever 21 style, they all fell off one-by-one. there’s still one hanging on, but it looks kind of lonely and awkward.

These pants are from my high school days as well. they’ve got a few pulls here and there, but I reallllly love to wear them to work because they’re like pj pants but they look like work pants. elastic waistband plus spandex mix fabric = super happy alexa at work! I wish I could find another pair like them, but alas, the search for the holy grail continues.

I’ve been looking around a lot on Etsy lately, mainly because work requires little more of me than sitting in a chair at a desk all day, so I’ve been semi-stocking up on things for the cottage in Alabama. dad sent me a new design for it yesterday, so hopefully he’ll be finalizing that plan and starting building soon! after all, I’ll be home in a month and a half… doesn’t leave a lot of wiggle room. Anyway, I’ve been buying all the homey things that I always wanted to buy but for some reason didn’t. I bought a gorgeous vintage bedspread (I’ve never had a bedspread before! always just a comforter) and a couple fancy table lamps. Only one has come in so far (see below!) and I need to pick a lampshade… any advice? I don’t know anything about lampshades. they come in all kinds of different shapes and sizes, it’s hard to pick the “right” one for the lamp. it’s super cute isn’t it? it has the original wiring (vintage, looks like 1950s or 1960s), but it in good working condition so I’m not too worried about replacing it with new wiring.

I was going to get rid of my art table, but I’ve been reading to many DIY blogs lately, I’m thinking I’ll keep it. it’s pretty hideous, though structurally sound. it’s about the size of a breakfast table, so I think it can work double-duty as my eating table and working table in the cottage. The table I was going to use for eating is just too small to do anything else with, which is sad because I really like it. it’s a great color, a nice dark stain, and a cute bistro size. I’ll probably take it home with me instead of selling it, and either find a place for it in the cottage or I’ll put it in storage. I’m going to sand down my art table, restain it, and use a lace centerpiece I bought on etsy ($5) as a stencil to give the table a little more character. I can’t decide if I want to spray paint it on in silver or in white… either way I’ve got time to decide. I can’t do any DIY stuff until I get home (I’ve got a long list of things I need to do!). I’m pretty excited about getting to put stuff in storage. I have a lot of stuff I want to keep, but that I won’t be using while I’m in Alabama, so it’ll be great to have it out of the way but safe. And don’t worry, as soon as school is over, I’m going to go through all my stuff (closet included) and really get rid of stuff. I have way too much crap! no need to keep it all. I have a lot of art/craft supplies too that I need to sort through as well. it’s harder to get rid of that because I really can’t predict what I’ll want to use and when…

I’m also going to get some rugs, but I won’t order them until I get into the cottage and see the space. Look how adult I am! I want to buy rugs.

Till next time! Stay safe out there people.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Create-A-Day: A Few Days Behind at A Wash of Paint.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

