Create-A-Day: Hurricane Irene

August 28, 2011 § Leave a comment

The first major hurricane in many years hit DC this weekend. I hate to say I was underwhelmed by the storm when I know it hit other places much harder, but I was kind of expecting something more…. serious. Basically we just got some wind and a lot of rain. We walked down to the river this morning to see if it was high, but despite the brown color of the water (typical during periods of a lot of rain), the river was actually lower than the last time we saw it. The only thing I can think of is that it’s flooded out somewhere, so now the river is low? I don’t know. Not a river/rocket scientist. I didn’t take any pictures of it, but I did get some fun shots on the way back home.

First up– MUSHROOMS! Huge mushroom clusters are popping up everywhere in DC’s neighborhoods as a result of all the rain we’ve been having. I was surprised and excited to see a mushroom circle over by a soccer field. It’s sooo weird that they grow like that naturally! I think some people call them fairy circles…

The mushrooms looked soooo yummy and they were HUGE. A single large mushroom out of this cluster had a diameter the length of my foot. I wish they were edible. I bought some mushrooms to saute and put in a feta and tomato pasta, but I didn’t cook it in time and now the mushrooms are bad. 😦

I also took some miscellaneous photos once alec pulled me away from the mushrooms…

aaaaand my favorite photo:

a large branch and part of the trunk tore off this tree during the storm, and I was struck by how beautiful the colors were of the wood beneath the bark. I really hope the tree will be okay.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Create-A-Day: Hurricane Irene at A Wash of Paint.

meta

