Create-A-Day: Nesting Already?

April 15, 2012 § Leave a comment

I don’t know where April is going! It’s definitely on the run, that’s for sure. I’ve been an Etsy/Craigslist fiend lately, I think searching for things for the new place is helping me come to terms with moving again. Normally, moving doesn’t scare me, but the more time I spend in DC, the more shit-scared I am of moving back home. I feel petrified, which is really a new feeling for me. I don’t normally feel fear, usually I just feel pissed off, depressed, or determined. I think maybe I’m feeling this way because this is the first time I’m leaving a place I love. In the past, I was always leaving a place I wasn’t too crazy about, so wherever I was going had to be better. I love DC. I love the neighborhoods, I love all the tree-lined streets and parks, I love the markets and shops and of course the MUSEUMS. I love people watching. I love the train system. I love feeling like I’m close to history in the making. I love knowing how many important people have walked the streets that I’m walking on. I know DC much better than I ever knew Atlanta and I’ve been here less time.

The phrase “no use crying over spilled milk” has come to mind a lot lately, starting with my great gran’s death but it’s been applicable to a number of things in my life now as well. I interpret the phrase to mean “don’t get upset over things you can’t change” (I have trouble with “sayings” sometimes, so it helps me to clarify what they mean for me and how I use them). I’m making a number of life-changing choices this year and there’s no use getting upset over them when I know I need to stick to those choices. I know I am doing the right things in all accounts, so being upset about my choices is pretty useless, damn near counterproductive.

On of my coping mechanisms for change is envisioning and preparing for my new life wherever it will be. My current fixation is decorating and furnishing the cottage my parents are building me in Alabama. Thinking about wall colors, linens, and where to hang artwork is helping me create an image of my head of what my daily life will be like. I’ve also, perhaps irresponsibly (but whatever), been buying things for the new place. I fell in love with a large photograph from a show at the gallery a few months ago. Yesterday I finally bought it. The artist will bring it by the gallery for me sometime this week, so I can take it home on Friday. It’s very haunting. And very yellow, which isn’t usually my taste, but when a piece sticks with you for that long, you have to get it, right? I also met the photographer at the opening on Friday, so that was nice. He was very grateful that I bought it, but I was very grateful that he made it, so it balanced out. It will be good to have new work to hang, since I’ve been staring at the work currently on my walls for years.

I need to decide on some major goals for while I’m home, mainly ones that will help me get into a PhD program. Of course, that needs to wait until I get through this semester… Less than a month to go! I’m currently procrastinating from writing a presentation for class tomorrow. My brain is just so full of distractions right now. I was offered the option to renew my current fellowship next year because an incoming student declined admission, but I turned it down because I just can’t get all the numbers to add up. I’ve finally admitted to myself that working as much as I do while being a full-time student is killing me. I can’t keep doing this to myself, unless I’m okay with dying early in life from stress-related problems. It’s not healthy and I need to stop. Plus, I don’t think I could keep on at my current job for multiple reasons, so it’s for the best that I’m sticking to my plan and quitting school.

Let’s look at pictures, shall we? These were taken with an old lens one of my good friends (shout out to Preston!) gave me because the motor in my lens was going out. I’m very very happy with the new/old lens! Taking pictures is so much easier without having to fight with my camera to get it to focus long enough to take a picture.

These are all Etsy purchases. I *love* these mugs. The design is just to die for and the mugs themselves are decent-sized (not too small or dainty) with good, solid handles. I am so happy with this purchase and now I can give the entire dish set I have to Alec when he moves out. I have a few family mugs in our current mis-matched dish set, but the rest I’m giving to him. I have my own, smaller set that I bought last year that I’ll be keeping, along with this new mug set. See below!

I also bought this teapot to replace my old teapot, which is so gross on the inside I’m afraid to drink out of it. I wash it, but it’s stained brown! The teapot is one of my pieces from my pottery studio days, so I think the quality of the glaze just isn’t that great. Both teapots are similar in that they’re blue with a flower motif and they’re a similar size, but the new one is a bit more….. frilly. It’s very unusual to say the least, but I like it. I think it matches my cream and sugar mismatched set well enough, anyway.

The metallic parts are silver and the flowers look handpainted. Very girls, but it’s not like I have any manly men coming over to drink tea with me.

Here’s a terrible picture of the complete set. I just couldn’t get the photo to work, but I wanted you to get an idea of how the set functions visually together. It’s mismatchy for sure, but I love every piece. [please ignore terrible photoshopping in the corner. this picture was just awful. blah.]

I’m considering getting an electric kettle since I won’t have a stove in the new place. Has anyone used one before? Any recommendations?

Oh, and I almost forgot — my favorite part of the teapot! It has this wonderful crackling (I think the technical term is crazing, but I’m not sure) all over it and inside. I’ve been assured this isn’t a structural problem, so no worries about that. I just love how it functions aesthetically!

Anyway, I need to get back to procrastinating–Imean–working on my paper and presentation. Bah. The last month of the semester is the hardest to get through in grad school.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Create-A-Day: Nesting Already? at A Wash of Paint.

meta

