What.a.day.

December 5, 2012 § Leave a comment

Made it through the day! This should be my last really hard day for a while. Today was the last day of classes, so that helps.

Went to sleep at 3:30am this morning, got up at 7 for work. Was having a tough morning (duh) so a friend of mine at the museum kindly brought me a brownie. Worked through lunch then went to a departmental retreat until it was time to go to class. Tried to finish my presentation (worked on it til 3:30am and only got half of it done) during class, then scrambled to finish it between my afternoon class and my evening seminar, when I was scheduled to do it. Got it done just minutes before class started. As per usual, my presentation was great. Now I just have to put in all my footnotes and elaborate on a few minor points and I can turn my paper in! Which is good because it’s due on Friday, so it’s not like there’s a lot of wiggle room.

Realized by the time I got home at 8:30pm that all I’d had to eat today was that brownie and a granola bar. Whoops.

Looked in the fridge, but all I found was this:

photo (10)

Old applesauce, old pineapple from thanksgiving (I should really throw it out…), old grapes that should also be thrown out, and some really old apples that I haven’t looked at in over a month. That can of fruit cocktail has been with me since the move down from DC. Not sure what I’m saving it for, a rainy day, I guess. That package you see in the lower left is this pre-cooked bacon that my mom bought me. She meant well, but just because it says bacon on the package doesn’t mean it’s really bacon. I’ve had that box for a while, should probably throw that out too.

I ate some stale rolls from thanksgiving with a little bit of peanut butter. I have to ration peanut butter because it’s so damn expensive. I get the kind with extra vitamins + omega 3s.

I can’t wait for the day when I’m not this poor. I can’t wait for the day when I don’t have to do 13 hour days with non-stop stress, little sleep, and no food. I can’t wait for the day when I actually have food in my fridge that is edible. Grad school is supposed to be like this though, right?

Exhausted now. Painted my nails and have plans to wear makeup tomorrow since I’ve looked like a zombie all week. I cried during work today, so I have to put my big girl pants on and get a grip before I go back. I’d also like to look nice tomorrow because there’s a certain cowboy fella roaming the halls of the museum looking for places to put healthy vending machines. No joke.

Seriously. Bed time. Every day I have like this probably takes 5 years off my life span. Sigh. Hope it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What.a.day. at A Wash of Paint.

meta

